Music Department Calendar of Events

Fall 2016 Recitals, Concerts and Events

All events are FREE and open to the public, unless otherwise noted. Please check back often, as sometimes locations and times can change.

Audience seating opens 30 minutes prior to each performance.

*denotes REQUIRED attendance for all 200-level Applied Music students

For more information, contact:
Ed Jacobs at 618-235-2700, ext. 5354 or ed.jacobs@swic.edu 

SWIC Music Faculty Preview Recital*

Wednesday, Sept. 7, 3 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

SWIC Faculty Recital

Tuesday, Sept. 27, 7 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

IMEA Choral Workshop

Wednesday, Sept. 28, all day - for more information, contact Dr. Andrew Jensen
(This event is not a concert and is therefore not open to the public)

Chamber Music Series – Finding Dora: Music for Cello and Piano

Stephanie Hunt, cello; Diana Umali, piano
Tuesday, Oct. 4, 7 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

Alumna Piano Recital – Joy Winkeler, piano*

Wednesday, Oct. 5, 3 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

SWIC Student Recital #1*

Wednesday, Oct. 12, 3 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

Our Story: A Celebration of American Choral Music

SWIC Concert Choir and Chamber Singers
Sunday, Oct. 23, 3 p.m., First United Presbyterian Church Chapel (1303 Royal Heights Road, Belleville)
Audience seating opens at 2:30 p.m.

Our Story: A Celebration of American Choral Music

SWIC Concert Choir and Chamber Singers with special guests Maroon Majic from Belleville West High School
Tuesday, Oct. 25, 7 p.m., Union United Methodist Church (721 E. Main St., Belleville)
Audience seating opens at 6:30 p.m.

SWIC Student Recital #2*

Wednesday, Oct. 26, 3 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

Of Castles and Countryside: Music of the British Isles

SWIC Concert Band Performance
Tuesday, Nov. 1, 7 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

Chamber Music Series – Genius or Madman? The Music of Robert Schumann

The Perseid String Quartet with Diana Umali, piano
Tuesday, Nov. 1, 8 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

SWIC Student Recital #3*

Wednesday, Nov. 9, 3 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

SWIC Student Recital #4*

Wednesday, Nov. 30, 3 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

Chamber Music Series – Passion Restrained: The Linjadi Trio

James Nacy, cello; Lindsey Miller Jones, violin; Diana Umali, piano
Wednesday, Nov. 30, 7 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

Instrumental Holiday Concert

featuring Concert Band, Jazz Band and Guitar Ensemble
Tuesday, Dec. 6, 7 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

Honors Recital Auditions/Final Exam Juries*

*event not open to the public*
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 3 p.m., Main Complex Room 2350

Carols by Candlelight II

SWIC Concert Choir and Chamber Singers
Friday, Dec. 9, 7 p.m., St. Luke Catholic Church (301 N. Church St., Belleville)

SWIC Student Honors Recital

Wednesday, Dec. 13, 7 p.m., Main Complex Theatre