Music Department Calendar of Events

Spring 2017 Recitals, Concerts and Events

All events are FREE and open to the public, unless otherwise noted. Please check back often, as sometimes locations and times can change.

* Attendance REQUIRED for all 200-level Applied Music students

For more information, contact:
Ed Jacobs at 618-235-2700, ext. 5354 or ed.jacobs@swic.edu 


Shaking Hands Over the Centuries: Celebrating the Music of Gerald Finzi

Tuesday, February 7, 7 p.m. - Schmidt Art Center

SWIC Student Recital #1*

Wednesday, February 15, 3 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

SWIC Jazz Festival with Guest Clinician Ron Sikes

Saturday, February 18, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

SWIC Jazz Band with Special Guest Ron Sikes

Tuesday, February 21, 7 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

Chamber Music Series: 20th Century Music for Flute and Piano

Shelly Monier and Kristi Cardoni, flute, and Diana Umali, piano
Tuesday, February 21, 7 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

SWIC Chamber Singers - Tour of Local High Schools

Tuesday, March 7, All Day

CANCELED - SWIC Student Recital #2*

Wednesday, March 8, 3 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

Spring on the Quad! - SWIC Concert Band

Tuesday, March 21, 2:30 p.m., Belleville Campus Quad

Explore the Sound III

Sunday, March 26, 7 p.m., St. Clare Catholic Church, O'Fallon

SWIC Student Recital #3*

Wednesday, March 29, 3 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

Chamber Music Series: An Evening in Spain - Music for Violin and Piano

Manuela Kaymakanova, violin, and Diana Umali, piano
Thursday, March 30, 7 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

Music Scholarship Auditions for 2017-2018

Friday, March 31, 2:30 p.m. – ?, Main Complex Room 2350
Submit Your Application

The Trombones of the St. Louis Symphony

Tuesday, April 4, 7 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

SWIC Student Recital #4*

Wednesday, April 19, 3 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

SWIC Guitar Ensemble Performance

Wednesday, May 3, 7 p.m., Main Complex Theatre

SWIC Concert Band Alumni Performance

Sunday, May 7, 3 p.m., Belleville Campus Varsity Gym

Spring Choral Concert

Tuesday, May 9, 7 p.m., Union United Methodist Church, Belleville

SWIC Student Honors Recital

Wednesday, May 10, 3 p.m., Schmidt Art Center

Tending the Flame: The Concert Band Tradition

Thursday, May 11, 7 p.m., Main Complex Theatre