Student Groups

Back to Top Act Two Theatre Club

Act Two Theatre Club promotes the art of theatre with activities and productions.

Sponsor: Jeff Blue
jeff.blue@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5561

Back to Top American Choral Directors Association

The American Choral Directors Association promotes the appreciation of choral music.

Sponsor: Andrew Jensen
andrew.jensen@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5032

Back to Top Anime Club

The Anime Club holds meetings to watch different types of animation and discuss, between the members, the merits and flaws of the observed materials.

Belleville Campus
Sponsor: James Hicks

jim.hicks@swic.edu
618-641-5026

Sam Wolf Granite City Campus
Sponsor: Kristen Hahn
kristen.hahn@swic.edu
618-931-0600, ext. 7341

Back to Top Association of Information Technology Professionals

A.I.T.P. offers students an opportunity to broaden their knowledge of and to foster a better understanding of the role of computers in business.

Sponsor: Lawrence Appelbaum
lawrence.appelbaum@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5486

Back to Top Astronomy Club

The Astronomy Club introduces students and the community to the wonders of the sky with the "unaided eye" as well as with telescopes.

Sponsor: Kyle Stumbaugh
kyle.stumbaugh@swic.edu
618-235-5224

Sponsor: Kari Wojtkowski
kari.wojtkowski@swic.edu
618-222-5320

Back to Top Black Affairs Council

The Black Affairs Council encourages the education and enhanced cultural awareness of all students in the community college district. 

Sponsor: Gary Cruise 
leonard.cruise@swic.edu
 
618-235-2700, ext. 5558 

Back to Top Blue Storm Pep Band

Blue Storm Pep Band brings school spirit with music at college events.

Sponsor: Ed Jacobs
ed.jacobs@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5354

Back to Top College Activities Board

The College Activities Board is a group of students that helps plan special events open to the entire student body, faculty and staff. Comedians, musicians, dances and variety shows are among the activities planned by CAB. See the College Activities Office at your campus for more information. 

Belleville Campus 
Sponsor: Jeff Blue 
jeff.blue@swic.edu
 
618-235-2700, ext. 5442 

Red Bud Campus
Sponsor: Amy Brockman 
amy.brockman@swic.edu
 
618-282-6682, ext. 8104

Sam Wolf Granite City Campus 
Sponsor: Jill Lorance 
jill.lorance@swic.edu
 
618-931-0600, ext. 7342

Back to Top College Democrats (Sam Wolf Granite City Campus)

College Democrats educates and promotes the values of the Democratic Party.

Sponsor: Steve Gaumer
steve.gaumer@swic.edu
618-931-0600, ext. 7305

Back to Top Construction Club

Construction Club promotes sustainable construction within the community.

Sponsor: Charles Laing
charles.laing@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5209

Back to Top Culinary Arts Club

The Culinary Arts Club encourages professionalism, unity and sociability among students enrolled in the Culinary Arts and Food Management program at SWIC. 

Sponsor: Chef Tom Noonan 
thomas.noonan@swic.edu
 
618-931-0600, ext. 7310

Back to Top Eye of the Storm: Student Newspaper

Published once a month from October through May, the newspaper keeps students informed of campus events.

Sponsor: Deb Sauerhage 
deb.sauerhage@swic.edu
eyeofthestorm@swic.edu
 
618-235-2700, ext. 4085

Back to Top Head to Hand: Literary Magazine

The student literary magazine, Head to Hand, considers student submissions of poetry, prose, drama, line art, photography, etc. for publication. Students should check bulletin boards for reading periods and submission requirements. Copies of the magazine are available at all campus information desks and bookstores. 

Sponsor: Azizat Danmole 
azizat.danmole@swic.edu
 
618-235-2700, ext. 5525

Back to Top History Club

The History Club was formed to allow students to experience history in ways that a classroom cannot offer. We pursue events and places that bring history to life and allow for a better understanding of what occurred and why it is important to us.

Sponsor: Mark Yearian
mark.yearian@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5309

Back to Top Horticulture Club

This club provides horticultural leadership, helps beautify the campuses, maintains outdoor horticultural land laboratories and sponsors speakers and field trips in the horticultural field.

Sponsor: Heidi Clark
heidi.clark@swic.edu
618-222-5224

Back to Top Intercollegiate Studies Institute Society

Intercollegiate Studies Institute shares a vision for creating an intellectually diverse environment on campus.

Sponsor: William McCarter
william.mccarter@swic.edu
618-641-5014

Back to Top Koinonia

Koinonia promotes Christianity on college campuses.

Sponsor: Nikki Hensley
nikki.hensley@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5382

Back to Top LATTE (Ladies Achieving Their True Excellence)

LATTE provides positive role models and community engagement opportunities for young women.

Sponsor: Tonya Horn
tonya.horn@swic.edu
618-641-5026

Back to Top Life Savers

Life Savers promotes positive lifestyles, decision-making skills and aids fellow students in crisis.

Sponsor: Lynne Schwartzhoff
lynne.schwartzhoff@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5197

Back to Top Lutheran Student Fellowship

Lutheran Student Fellowship promotes Christianity and the teachings of the Lutheran denomination.

Sponsor: Dennis Shannon
dennis.shannon@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5380

Back to Top Model United Nations

Model United Nations simulates the operation of the United Nations by having students take on the roles of member countries.

Sponsor: Van Plexico
van.plexico@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 8123

Back to Top Newman Catholic Campus Ministry

The Newman Club is a Christian organization that meets to connect with students in a way that ignites their passion for God and challenges their thinking with the kind of fresh, relevant discipleship found nowhere else.

Sponsor: Winnie Kenney
winnie.kenney@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5430

Back to Top Pep Club

Pep Club leads fellow students in showing SWIC spirit.

Sponsor: Regina Ray
regina.ray@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5271

Back to Top Phi Beta Lambda FBLA-PBL Inc.

Phi Beta Lambda is a dynamic organization of students preparing for success as leaders in business, government and communities. Our mission is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs.

Sponsor: Tina Dierkes 
tina.dierkes@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5321

Back to Top Phi Theta Kappa: Theta Epsilon Chapter (Belleville Campus)

Phi Theta Kappa - Theta Epsilon Chapter is a national honorary scholastic society. It promotes scholarship, develops character and cultivates fellowship among students in the community colleges of the United States.

Sponsor: Jeff Blue
jeff.blue@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5442

Back to Top Phi Theta Kappa: Beta Iota Iota Chapter (Red Bud Campus)

Phi Theta Kappa, Beta Iota Iota Chapter is a national honorary scholastic society. It promotes scholarship, develops character and cultivates fellowship among students in the community colleges of the United States. For information about the Red Bud Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, please contact the sponsor. 

Sponsor: Krista Olson
krista.olson@swic.edu
618-222-5320

Back to Top Phi Theta Kappa: Alpha Kappa Rho Chapter (Sam Wolf Granite City Campus)

Phi Theta Kappa, Theta Epsilon Chapter is a national honorary scholastic society. It promotes scholarship, develops character and cultivates fellowship among students in the community colleges of the United States.

Sponsor: Patricia Pou
patricia.pou@swic.edu 
618-931-0600, ext. 7441

Back to Top Physical Therapist Assistant Club

The purpose of the PTAC is to encourage unity among its members through professional and social activities and to educate the community regarding physical therapy.

Sponsor: Robert Lutz
robert.lutz@swic.edu
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5561.

Back to Top Progressive Radiographers Organization

This organization encourages professionalism, unity and sociability among students enrolled in the Radiology program at SWIC.

Sponsor: Julie Ostrowski
julie.ostrowski@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5301

Back to Top Q&A (Queers and Allies)

Q&A offers a fun, accepting and friendly environment for individuals who are bisexual, lesbian, gay, intersex, transgender and/or cross-dressers and the supporters of these individuals.

Belleville Campus
Sponsor: Tracey Hayes
tracey.hayes@swic.edu
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5561.

Sam Wolf Granite City Campus
Sponsor: Susan Bryant
susan.bryant@swic.edu
618-931-0600, ext. 7307
Sponsor: Beth Raftopolous
beth.raftopoulos@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5411

Back to Top Respiratory Care Student Association

The Respiratory Care Student Association promotes the success of students pursuing a career in respiratory therapy.

Sponsor: Diane Dodd
diane.dodd@hshs.org
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5561.

Back to Top Running Start Club

Running Start Club promotes the success of Running Start students in their college careers.

Sponsor: Jane Sparks
jane.sparks@swic.edu
618-222-5490

Back to Top Sign Language Club

The Sign Language Club provides social contact between the deaf and hearing. The group gives students the opportunity to learn more about the deaf community, improve interpreter skills and share information and resources.

Sponsor: Greg Petersen
gregory.petersen@swic.edu
Contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5561 for more information.

Back to Top Skills USA Team (Sam Wolfe Granite City Campus)

The Skills USA Team is open to all students enrolled in classes with vocational, trade, industrial, technical, health and personal and public service objectives. 

Sponsor: Kevin Corgan 
kevin.corgan@swic.edu
618-931-0600, ext. 7423

Back to Top Student Nurses Association

Students in the Nursing Education program may join the Student Nurses Association, affiliated with the Illinois Nursing Association, Tenth District.

Sponsor: Kim Keel 
kim.keel@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5792

Sponsor: Jane Ohl 
jane.ohl@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5261

Back to Top Student Veterans of America

Student Veterans of America promotes awareness of the issues facing veterans of the armed forces.

Sponsor: Garry Ladd
garry.ladd@swic.edu
618-222-5373

Back to Top Video Game Club

The Video Gaming Club was formed to establish a friendly gaming community at SWIC and promote leadership and teamwork through one of the largest and fastest-growing pastimes - video gaming.

Sponsor: TBA
For more information, contact College Activities at
CollegeActivities@swic.edu or call 618-235-2700, ext. 5561.

Back to Top Visual Arts Club

The Student Committee for the Visual Arts is a service organization open to students interested in the cultural image of SWIC. Members meet at least once a month to organize and hang art exhibitions, sponsor lectures and workshops, and purchase art for the college.

Sponsor: Dawn Blum
dawn.blum@swic.edu
618-641-5044
Sponsor: Jessica Mannisi
jessica.mannisi@swic.edu
618-222-5278