Student Groups

Back to Top Association of Information Technology Professionals

A.I.T.P. offers students an opportunity to broaden their knowledge of and to foster a better understanding of the role of computers in business.

Sponsor: Beth Burns
beth.burns@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5433

Back to Top Alive! Baptist Collegiate Ministry

We're a student-led Christian ministry reaching out to the SWIC Granite City campus with the Good News of Jesus Christ. Whether you're looking for answers to life's toughest questions or a Christ-follower of any denomination, you're welcome to join us as we dig into God's love letter to the world. 

Sponsor: Bob Stilwell 
robert.stilwell@swic.edu
618-477-2264

Back to Top Anime Club

The Anime Club holds meetings to watch different types of animation and discuss, between the members, the merits and flaws of the observed materials.

Sponsor: James Hicks
james.hicks@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 8134 

Back to Top Anthropology Club

The Anthropology Club is open to all students who want to learn more about the field of anthropology, including the subfields of archaeology, linguistics, biological anthropology and ethnology.

Sponsor: Bob Gergen
bob.gergen@swic.edu
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5561.

Back to Top Astronomy Club

The Astronomy Club introduces students and the community to the wonders of the sky with the "unaided eye" as well as with telescopes.

Sponsor: Kyle Stumbaugh
kyle.stumbaugh@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5224

Back to Top BACCHUS

BACCHUS is an international and university-based peer education program focusing on alcohol-abuse prevention and other student health and safety issues. The mission of the group is to actively promote peer education as a useful element of campus health education and wellness efforts. BACCHUS focuses on the development and promotion of positive lifestyles and decision-making skills.

Sponsor: Dale Zink
dale.zink@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5566

Back to Top Black Affairs Council

The Black Affairs Council encourages the education and enhanced cultural awareness of all students in the community college district. 

Sponsor: Gary Cruise 
leonard.cruise@swic.edu 
618-235-2700, ext. 5558 

Sponsor: Marletta Webb
marletta.webb@swic.edu 
618-235-2700, ext. 5293

Back to Top Children's Theatre Company

The SWIC Children's Theatre Company takes live theater to area grade schools in the community college district each spring. Auditions for the touring show are held in the spring semester. 

Sponsor: Tony Zeigler 
william.zeigler@swic.edu 
618-235-2700, ext. 5561

Back to Top College Activities Board

The College Activities Board is a group of students that helps plan special events open to the entire student body, faculty and staff. Comedians, musicians, dances and variety shows are among the activities planned by CAB. See the College Activities Office at your campus for more information. 

Belleville Campus 
Sponsor: Jeff Blue 
jeff.blue@swic.edu 
618-235-2700, ext. 5442 

East St. Louis Campus 
Sponsor: Tracy Haggins 
tracy.haggins@swic.edu 
618-874-6592 

Red Bud Campus
Sponsor: Amy Brockman 
amy.brockman@swic.edu 
618-235-2700, ext. 5561 

Sam Wolf Granite City Campus 
Sponsor: Jill Lorance 
jill.lorance@swic.edu 
618-931-0600, ext. 7342

Back to Top Colors of Theatre & Entertainment - COTE

The purpose of COTE is to offer quality entertainment chronicling the life experiences of minorities. 

Sponsor: Gary Cruise 
leonard.cruise@swic.edu 
618-235-2700, ext. 5558

Back to Top CRU

This club offers fellowship with believers in Christ who share a common desire to reach out to others to provide an understanding of the Christian faith.

 Sponsor: Kevin Monroe
kevin.monroe@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5410

Back to Top Culinary Arts Club

The Culinary Arts Club encourages professionalism, unity and sociability among students enrolled in the Culinary Arts and Food Management program at SWIC. 

Sponsor: Chef Tom Noonan 
thomas.noonan@swic.edu 
618-931-0600, ext. 7310

Back to Top Eye of the Storm

Published once a month from October through May, the newspaper keeps students informed of campus events.

Sponsor: Deb Sauerhage 
deb.sauerhage@swic.edu
eyeofthestorm@swic.edu 
618-235-2700, ext. 4085

Back to Top Head to Hand: Literary Magazine

The student literary magazine, Head to Hand, considers student submissions of poetry, prose, drama, line art, photography, etc. for publication. Students should check bulletin boards for reading periods and submission requirements. Copies of the magazine are available at all campus information desks and bookstores. 

Sponsor: Azizat Danmole 
azizat.danmole@swic.edu 
618-235-2700, ext. 5380

Back to Top History Club

The History Club was formed to allow students to experience history in ways that a classroom cannot offer. We pursue events and places that bring history to life and allow for a better understanding of what occurred and why it is important to us.

Sponsor: Mark Yearian
mark.yearian@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5561

Back to Top Horticulture Club

This club provides horticultural leadership, helps beautify the campuses, maintains outdoor horticultural land laboratories and sponsors speakers and field trips in the horticultural field.

Sponsor: Kurt Range
kurt.range@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5135

Back to Top Math & Science Club

The Math & Science Club focuses on enriching students' lives through extracurricular activities related to math and science. The club works to build a learning community at the college by offering fun, stimulating activities.

Sponsor: Robin Anderson
robin.anderson@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5148

Back to Top Newman Club

The Newman Club is a Christian organization that meets to connect with students in a way that ignites their passion for God and challenges their thinking with the kind of fresh, relevant discipleship found nowhere else.

Sponsor: Winnie Kenney
winnie.kenney@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5430

Back to Top Phi Beta Lambda FBLA-PBL Inc.

Phi Beta Lambda is a dynamic organization of students preparing for success as leaders in business, government and communities. Our mission is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs.

Sponsor: Tina Dierkes 
tina.dierkes@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5321

Back to Top Phi Theta Kappa: Belleville Campus

Phi Theta Kappa - Theta Epsilon Chapter is a national honorary scholastic society. It promotes scholarship, develops character and cultivates fellowship among students in the community colleges of the United States.

Sponsor: Julie Stellhorn
phithetakappa@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5205 

Back to Top Phi Theta Kappa: Red Bud Campus

Phi Theta Kappa, Beta Iota Iota Chapter is a national honorary scholastic society. It promotes scholarship, develops character and cultivates fellowship among students in the community colleges of the United States. For information about the Red Bud Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, please contact the sponsor. 

Sponsor: Amy Brockman
amy.brockman@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5561

Back to Top Phi Theta Kappa: Sam Wolf Granite City Campus

Phi Theta Kappa, Theta Epsilon Chapter is a national honorary scholastic society. It promotes scholarship, develops character and cultivates fellowship among students in the community colleges of the United States.

Sponsor: Pat Pou
patricia.pou@swic.edu 
618-797-7441

Back to Top Physical Therapist Assistant Club

The purpose of the PTAC is to encourage unity among its members through professional and social activities and to educate the community regarding physical therapy.

Sponsor: Robert Lutz
robert.lutz@swic.edu
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5561.

Back to Top Progressive Radiographers

This organization encourages professionalism, unity and sociability among students enrolled in the Radiology program at SWIC.

Sponsor: Larry Wheeler
larry.wheeler@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5301

Back to Top Q & A

Q&A offers a fun, accepting and friendly environment for individuals who are bisexual, lesbian, gay, intersex, transgender and/or cross-dressers and the supporters of these individuals.

Sponsor: Barbara Hunter 
barbara.hunter@swic.edu  
618-235-2700, ext. 5590

Back to Top Sign Language Club

The Sign Language Club provides social contact between the deaf and hearing. The group gives students the opportunity to learn more about the deaf community, improve interpreter skills and share information and resources.

Sponsor: Karyn Houston 
karyn.houston@swic.edu
Contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5561 for more information.

Back to Top Skills USA Team

The Skills USA Team is open to all students enrolled in classes with vocational, trade, industrial, technical, health and personal and public service objectives. 

Sponsor: Kevin Corgan 
kevin.corgan@swic.edu 
618-797-7423

Back to Top Student Leader Group

The Student Leader Group is the student advisory wing of the College Activities office. The group is comprised of representatives from all recognized student organizations. Issues concerning the student body are discussed.

 For more information, contact College Activities at CollegeActivities@swic.edu or call 618-235-2700, ext. 5561.

Back to Top Student Nurses Association

Students in the Nursing Education program may join the Student Nurses Association, affiliated with the Illinois Nursing Association, Tenth District.

Sponsor: Kim Keel 
kim.keel@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5792

Sponsor: Jane Ohl 
jane.ohl@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5261

Back to Top Veterans Student Group BC

The Veterans Student Group works to advocate in behalf of student veterans. The organization coordinates campus activities and provides pre-professional and peer-to-peer networking.

Sponsor: Wayne Ault
wayne.ault@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5410

Back to Top Veterans Student Group GCC

The Veterans Student Group works to advocate on behalf of student veterans. The organization coordinates campus activities and provides pre-professional and peer-to-peer networking.

Sponsor: Howard Gunning
howard.gunning@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5179

Back to Top Video Gaming Club

The Video Gaming Club was formed to establish a friendly gaming community at SWIC and promote leadership and teamwork through one of the largest and fastest-growing pastimes - video gaming.

 For more information, contact College Activities at CollegeActivities@swic.edu or call 618-235-2700, ext. 5561. 

Back to Top Visual Arts Club

The Student Committee for the Visual Arts is a service organization open to students interested in the cultural image of SWIC. Members meet at least once a month to organize and hang art exhibitions, sponsor lectures and workshops, and purchase art for the college.

Sponsor: Paula McAteer
paula.mcateer@swic.edu
618-235-2700, ext. 5044