The Higher Learning Commission

Southwestern Illinois College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The college has held this accreditation since 1961. The commission is located at 
230 S. LaSalle St., Suite 7-500 Chicago, IL 60604-1411. The commission's telephone number is 312-263-0456.

SWIC is a member institution of the Academic Quality Improvement Project (AQIP) sponsored by the commission. This affiliation extends our accreditation through 2016. The AQIP process focuses on continuous quality improvement and gives SWIC the opportunity to show that it meets the Higher Learning Commission's accreditation standards through the pursuit of well-focused quality improvement projects. For further information regarding AQIP, visit the Higher Learning Commission website.

Member of:

  • American Association of Community and Junior Colleges
  • American Association of Paralegal Education
  • Illinois Consortium for International Studies and Programs
  • Metro East St. Louis Regional Council on Interinstitutional Cooperation
  • Network of Illinois Learning Resources in Community Colleges
  • Southern Illinois Learning Resource Cooperative
  • Southwestern Illinois Partnership for College and Career Success

Approved as a Class I Community College by:

  • Illinois Community College Board
  • Illinois Board of Higher Education
  • Illinois State Board of Education
  • Illinois Department of Veterans Affairs

Career education programs are accredited or recognized by:

  • American Culinary Federation Educational Institute
  • American Design Drafting Association
  • American Society of Clinical Pathologists
  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP), 1361 Park St., Clearwater, FL 33756, phone: 727-210-2350
  • Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services Professions (, 8301 Lakeview Parkway, Suite 111-112, Rowlett, TX 75008
  • Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education, American Physical Therapy Association,
    1111 N. Fairfax, St. Alexandria, VA 22314, 703-706-3245,
  • Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics Management Education, 233 N. Michigan Avenue,
    21st Floor, Chicago, IL 60601-5800, 312-233-1100
  • Committee on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC), 1248 Harwood Road, Bedford, TX 76021-4244,
  • Federal Aviation Administration
  • Illinois Department of Finance and Professional Regulation, 100 West Randolph, Suite 9-300, Chicago, IL 60601, 312-814-4500
  • Illinois Department of Public Health
  • Illinois Department of Transportation
  • Illinois Local Governmental Law Enforcement Officers Training and Standards Board
  • Illinois State Fire Marshal
  • International Fire Science Accreditation, for purpose of examinationJoint Review Committee for Education in Radiological Technology
  • National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences, 5600 N River Road, Suite 720, Rosemont, IL 60018. 773-714-8880,
  • National Institute for Metalworking Skills
  • Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (AGEN), 3343 Peachtree Road, NE Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326, 404-975-5000