Posted by Dena Roland Woods on July 6, 2018

Pictured are PTK Theta Epsilon Chapter members at the convention, sitting, left to right, SWIC PTK advisor Christina Boyce, Foram Patel of Belleville and Malinda Mullet of Lebanon; back row, left to right, Kyle Daniels of Sparta, Dottie Bourn of Belleville, Laura Rundquist of Mascoutah, Derik Hefferly of Troy, Meghan Kleeb of Collinsville and Olivia Grudzinski of Millstadt. 

The Theta Epsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, at Southwestern Illinois College Belleville campus recently took home 11 awards at the 2018 Illinois Regional PTK Convention in St. Charles, Illinois.

“During 2017, the Theta Epsilon chapter worked diligently towards Five Star status.  They completed an Honors In Action project about this importance of volunteering, attended multiple regional conferences and workshops, and participated in service projects and fellowship events,” said Christina Boyce, SWIC PTK advisor. “I am so proud of their hard work and dedication to this amazing chapter and organization.”

The Theta Epsilon Chapter received the following awards:
– Outstanding Chapter
– Outstanding Chapter Officer Team
– College Project Award
– Honors In Action Award
– Certificate for reaching Five Star status

In addition, the PTK members took home the following honors:
– Outstanding Chapter Officer – Foram Patel of Belleville
– Spirit Award – Dottie Bourn of Belleville
– Most Distinguished Chapter Officer Award – Malinda Mullet of Lebanon
– Leader Of Distinction – Kyle Daniels of Sparta
– Certificate of Regional Awards – Foram Patel of Belleville
– Outstanding Chapter Advisor – Christina Boyce

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.