

# BOARD OF TRUSTEES Community College District No. 522 Special Meeting Marsh Conference Room Belleville Campus April 28, 2021

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District #522 was held Wednesday, April 28, 2021 in the Marsh Conference Room at the Belleville Campus, 2500 Carlyle Avenue, Belleville, Illinois. Chairman Robert G. Morton called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m., announced a quorum, and stated the purposes of the special meeting were to reorganize the Board of Trustees and to interview candidates for sub-district 4 in accordance with 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1) of the Open Meetings Act.

## **ROLL CALL**

Trustees present: John S. Blomenkamp

Steve Campo

Mya Gill, Student Trustee

Robert G. Morton

Nick Raftopoulos (remote) Richard Roehrkasse Sara Soehlke (remote)

#### REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

#### MOTION 04-28-21:01

Mr. Blomenkamp moved, seconded by Mr. Roehrkasse, to adopt Resolution Declaring Results of Election Held April 6, 2021 wherein Sara Soehlke was elected to fill the remaining two years of an unexpired term ending in 2023. Upon a roll call vote, those trustees voting aye were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Blomenkamp, Mr. Campo, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke, and Mr. Morton. Nays: None. Absent: None. **PASSED** 

### **OATH OF OFFICE**

Board Chair Morton directed the Board Secretary to deliver the oath of office to newly-elected trustee Sara Soehlke.

#### APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY BOARD CHAIR

Mr. Blomenkamp moved, seconded by Mr. Roehrkasse, to appoint Board Attorney Garrett Hoerner temporary chair for the purpose of electing a Board Chair.

Mr. Roehrkasse moved, seconded by Mr. Morton, to close the nominations for temporary Board Chair. Upon a roll call vote, those trustees voting aye were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Blomenkamp, Mr. Campo, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke and Mr. Morton. Nays: None. Present: None. Absent: None. PASSED

Upon a roll call vote, those trustees voting for Board Attorney Garrett Hoerner as temporary Board Chair were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Blomenkamp, Mr. Campo, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke and Mr. Morton. Nays: None. Present: None. Absent: None. **PASSED** 

#### **ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR**

Chairman pro-temp Hoerner requested nominations for the position of Board Chair to serve a two-year period. Mr. Morton moved, seconded by Mr. Raftopoulos, to nominate John Blomenkamp as Board Chair.

Pro-temp Chair Hoerner requested a motion to close the nominations. Mr. Raftopoulos moved, seconded by Mr. Roehrkasse, to close the nominations. Upon a roll call vote, those trustees voting aye were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Blomenkamp, Mr. Campo, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke and Mr. Morton. Nays: None. Present: None. Absent: None. **PASSED** 

Upon a roll call vote, those trustees voting aye for John S. Blomenkamp as Board Chair were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Blomenkamp, Mr. Campo, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke and Mr. Morton. Nays: None. Present: None. Absent: None. PASSED

#### **ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR**

Board Chair John Blomenkamp requested nominations for the position of Board Vice Chair to serve a two-year term. Ms. Soehlke moved, seconded by Mr. Blomenkamp, to nominate Nick Raftopoulos to serve as Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Mr. Roehrkasse moved, seconded by Mr. Morton, to close the nominations. Upon a roll call vote, those trustees voting aye were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Blomenkamp, Mr. Campo, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke and Mr. Morton. Nays: None. Present: None. Absent: None. **PASSED** 

Upon a roll call vote, those trustees voting aye for Nick Raftopoulos to serve as Board Vice Chair were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Blomenkamp, Mr. Campo, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke and Mr. Morton. Nays: None. Present: None. Absent: None. **PASSED** 

# MEETING DAY, TIME AND LOCATION FOR REGULAR MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

The Board of Trustees by voice vote agreed to change the meeting start time for the Board committee meetings and the Board of Trustees' meetings to 5:15 p.m.

#### BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Board Chair Blomenkamp stated he will not name any committee appointments tonight and will name them later.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Mr. Roehrkasse moved, seconded by Mr. Morton, to move into Executive Session at 5:15 p.m. to interview candidates for sub-district 4 in accordance with 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1) of the Open Meetings Act. Upon a roll call vote those trustees voting aye were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Campo, Mr. Morton, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke and Mr. Blomenkamp. Nays: None. Absent: None. **PASSED** 

There was consensus to return to regular session at 7:40 p.m.

#### ACTION TAKEN AS A RESULT OF EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mr. Raftopoulos moved, seconded by Mr. Morton, to recommend Charles Hannon of Swansea, Illinois to fill the vacancy in sub-district 4 of the Board of Trustees of Community College District #522. Upon a roll call vote those trustees voting aye were Ms. Gill (opinion), Mr. Morton, Mr. Raftopoulos, Mr. Roehrkasse, Ms. Soehlke and Mr. Blomenkamp. Nays: None. Present: Mr. Campo. Absent: None. **PASSED** 

# **MISCELLANEOUS**

President Mance reported the Department of Defense recently held a nationwide competition for Precision Machining Technology and the Southwestern Illinois College team placed second in the nation. He congratulated the team and commended Dean Brad Sparks and faculty.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Mr. Morton moved, seconded by Mr. Roehrkasse, to adjourn the meeting at 7:45 p.m. The motion carried.

Approved: 05.19	.21	Respectfully submitted,
John S. Blomenkamp		Beverly J. Fiss
Chairman of the Board of Trustees		Secretary to the Board of Trustees