Health Sciences & Homeland Security Faculty and Staff | Southwestern Illinois College

Dean of Health Sciences & Homeland Security

Name Contact
Julie Muertz
Health Sciences & Homeland Security
B.S., Maryville College
M.Ed., National Louis University
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5298
julie.muertz@swic.edu

ADMINISTRATION & STAFF

Name  Contact
Susan Attaway
Police Academy Assistant
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5396
susan.attaway@swic.edu
Donna Baker
Dean’s Secretary
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5267
donna.baker@swic.edu
Dawn Kaiser
Divisional Secretary
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5195
dawn.kaiser@swic.edu
Shannon Meier
Divisional Secretary
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5263
shannon.meier@swic.edu
Candice Rodgers
Coordinator’s Assistant and Student Liaison
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5355
candice.rodgers@swic.edu
Name Department Contact
Elizabeth Alvarez
Assistant Professor, Nursing Education
B.S.N., Saint Louis University
M.S.N., McKendree University
Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5009
Elizabeth.Alvarez@swic.edu
John Bast
Assistant Professor, Respiratory Care
A.A.S., Maryville University
B.S., University of Missouri
Respiratory Care Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5916
john.bast@swic.edu
Jill Bingheim
Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
B.S.N., Southern Illinois University
M.S.N., Southern Illinois University
Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5441
Jill.Bingheim@swic.edu
Tamara Bivin
Instructor
Licensed Massage Therapist
Body Therapy Center and School of Massage
Board Certified in Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
Advanced Certification in Biodynamic Cardiovascular Therapy
Massage Therapy Body Therapy Center
618-239-6400
Tamara.Bivin@swic.edu
Jean Deitz
Associate Professor, Medical Laboratory Technology
A.S., Belleville Area College
A.A., Belleville Area College
B.S., Southern Illinois University
M.S., Southern Illinois University
Medical Laboratory Technology Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5386
jean.deitz@swic.edu
Diane Dodd
Professor, Respiratory Care
A.A.S., Lincoln Land Community College
B.A., Southern Illinois University
 Respiratory Care Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5907
diane.dodd@swic.edu
Gary Gardner
Assistant Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
B.S.N, The University of Texas
M.S.N, Georgetown University
 Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5793
gary.gardner@swic.edu
Howard Gunning
Associate Professor, Medical Assistant
Certified Medical Assistant (CMA)
A.A.S., Community College of the Air Force
B.S., Southern Illinois University
M.S. Ed., Southern Illinois University
 Medical Assistant  Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5179
howard.gunning@swic.edu
Stacey Hairston
Assistant Professor, Health Information Technology
B.S., St. Louis University
M.H.A, St. Louis University
 Health Information Technology Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5580
stacey.hairston@swic.edu
Yvonne Hanger
Professor, Health Information Technology
A.A.S., Southwestern Illinois College
B.S., Stephens College
 Health Information Technology Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5385
yvonne.hanger@swic.edu
Karyn Houston
Associate Professor, Sign Language Studies
Certified Rehabilitation Counselor (CRC)
B.S., John Brown University
M.S., University of Arkansas
 Sign Language Studies Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5267
karyn.houston@swic.edu
Kim Keel
Assistant Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
A.A.S., Lewis & Clark Community College
B.S.N., McKendree College
M.S.N., Southern Illinois University
 Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5792
kim.keel@swic.edu
Rhonda Kern
Associate Professor, Radiologic Technology
AAS, Belleville Area College
BS.BA, Southern Illinois University
MBA, Southern Illinois University
Ph. D., Capella University
 Radiologic Technology Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5303
rhonda.kern@swic.edu
Michelle Kujawa
Assistant Professor, Physical Therapist Assistant
Licensed Physical Therapist
B.A., Miami University
M.S.P.T., Washington University
 Physical Therapist Assistant Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5362
michelle.kujawa@swic.edu
Lyn Martin
Associate Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
A.A.S., Belleville Area College
B.S.N., Southern Illinois University
M.S.N., Southern Illinois University
 Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5196
lyn.martin@swic.edu
Susen McBeth
Assistant Professor, Sign Language Studies
Certified Interpreter
A.A.S., St. Louis Community College
B.S., Southwest Missouri State University
M.A., Gallaudet University
 Sign Language Studies Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5799
susen.mcBeth@swic.edu
Van Muschler
Assistant Professor, Administration of Justice
B.A., University of Missouri
M.S., National Louis University
 Administration of Justice Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5396
van.muschler@swic.edu
Jane Ohl
Assistant Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
B.S.N., Southern Illinois University
M.S.N., Southern Illinois University
 Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5261
jane.ohl@swic.edu
Elizabeth Raftopoulos
Assistant Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
B.S.N., Northern Illinois University
M.S.N., Southern Illinois University
 Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5411
beth.raftopoulos@swic.edu
Stephanie Reid
Professor, Nurse Assistant
A.A.S., Southwestern Illinois College
 Nurse Assistant Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5906
stephanie.reid@swic.edu
William Sax
Assistant Professor, Administration of Justice
A.A.S., Southwestern Illinois College
B.S., Greenville College
M.S., Lindenwood University
 Administration of Justice Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5265
william.sax@swic.edu
Curt Schmittling
Associate Professor, EMS & Paramedic
Emergency Medical Technician/Paramedic
A.S., Southwestern Illinois College
B.S., Park University
M.Ed., Park University
 EMS & Paramedic Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5343
Curt.Schmittling@swic.edu
Lee Smith
Assistant Professor, Fire Science
A.A.S, Belleville Area College
A.S., Belleville Area College
B.A., Western IL University
 Fire Science Belleville
618-234-5138
lee.smith@swic.edu
Kim Snyder
Professor, Physical Therapist Assistant
Licensed Physical Therapist Assistant
A.A.S., Southern Illinois University
B.A., National Louis University
M.Ed., National Louis University
 Physical Therapist Assistant Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5390
kim.snyder@swic.edu
Susan Wessel
Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
B.S.N., St. Louis University
M.S.N., Southern Illinois University
 Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5421
sue.wessel@swic.edu
Larry Wheeler
Assistant Professor, Radiologic Technology
Registered Radiologic Technologist
A.A.S., Belleville Area College
B.A., McKendree College
 Radiologic Technology Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5301
larry.wheeler@swic.edu
Colleen White
Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
B.S.N., St. Louis University
M.S.N., Southern Illinois University
 Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5420
colleen.white@swic.edu
Cynthia Winfield
Assistant Professor, Nursing Education
Registered Nurse
B.S.N., Mount Saint Mary College
M.S.N., Southern Illinois University
 Nursing Education Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5418
cynthia.winfield@swic.edu
Dana Woods
Professor, Medical Assistant
Certified Medical Assistant (CMA)
A.A.S., Southwestern Illinois College
B.S., Southern Illinois University
M. Ed., McKendree University
 Medical Assistant Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5332
dana.woods@swic.edu