Arts & Humanities Faculty and Staff | Southwestern Illinois College

Dean of Arts & Humanities

Name Contact
Mary Ruettgers
Dean
A.A., A.S., Southwestern Illinois College
B.S., McKendree College
M.A., Education and Administration, Lindenwood University
M.A. English, University Missouri St. Louis
M.A. Reading Specialist, Lindenwood University
Ed.D., Lindenwood University
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5227
mary.ruettgers@swic.edu

ADMINISTRATION & STAFF

Name  Contact
Anne Mastromatteo
Administrative Secretary
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5327
anne.mastromatteo@swic.edu
Instructional Services Assistant Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5026

 

 

 

Shawn Vratney
Secretary
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5309
shawn.vratney@swic.edu
Name Department Contact
Caroline Adams
Education Department Coordinator
B.A., University of Mississippi
M.A., Vanderbilt University
Ed.D., University of Mississippi
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5729
caroline.adams@swic.edu
Jeff Arnold
Professor , Geography
B.S., Western Illinois University
M.A., Ohio State University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5412
jeff.arnold@swic.edu
Carolyn Beal
Associate Professor , Early Childhood Education
A.A., Belleville Area College
B.A., McKendree College
M.S., Southern Illinois University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5593
carolyn.beal@swic.edu
Laura Billings
Professor , Psychology
B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
M.A., University of Kansas
Ph.D., University of Kansas
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5409
laura.billings@swic.edu
Carla Bills
Associate Professor , Psychology
B.S., Lincoln University of Missouri
M.A., University of Missouri
Ph.D., University of Missouri
Social Science Sam Wolf Granite City
618-931-0600, ext. 7394
carla.bills@swic.edu
Laura Boville
Assistant Professor, English
B.A., Truman State University
M.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Communication Sam Wolf Granite City
618-931-0600, ext. 7388
laura.boville@swic.edu
Dan Cross
Professor , Film
B.A., University of Minnesota
M.A., Northern Arizona University
M.A., Savannah College of Art and Design
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5591
dan.cross@swic.edu
Steve Gaumer
Associate Professor , History/Political Science
B.A., St. Louis University
B.A., St. Louis University
M.A., St. Louis University
Social Science Sam Wolf Granite City
618-931-0600, ext. 7305
steve.gaumer@swic.edu
Nicole Hancock
Assistant Professor , English
B.A., Olivet Nazarene University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5151
nicole.hancock@swic.edu
Paula Haniszewski
Assistant Professor , Art
B.F.A.- Southern Illinois University
M.F.A.- New York Academy of Art
Art Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5044
paula.haniszewski@swic.edu
Tracey Hayes
Assistant Professor , Sociology
B.A., McKendree College
M.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5408
tracey.hayes@swic.edu
Susan Holbrook
Associate Professor , Human Services Technology
B.S., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5198
susan.holbrook@swic.edu
Tami Hughes
Assistant Professor , Reading
A.A., Belleville Area College
B.S., Bradley University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5174
tami.hughes@swic.edu
Barb Hunter
Professor , Psychology
B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
M.S., Pennsylvania State University
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5590
barbara.hunter@swic.edu
Edward Jacobs
Associate Professor , Music
B.A., University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
M.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Music Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5354
edward.jacobs@swic.edu
Andrew Jensen
Assistant Professor , Music
B.M. – Illinois State University
M.M. – Illinois State University
D.M.A. – University of Southern Mississippi
Music Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5032
andrew.jensen@swic.edu
Emily Kelly-Padden
Assistant Professor , Speech
B.A., Allegheny College
M.A., Eastern Michigan University
ABD, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5419
emily.kelly-padden@swic.edu
Winnie Kenney
Associate Professor , English Composition
B.A., East Tennessee State University
M.A., East Tennessee State University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5430
winnie.kenney@swic.edu
Kathy Kufskie
Professor , Psychology
B.S., Southeast Missouri State University
M.A., Lindenwood University
Ph.D., University of Missouri – Saint Louis
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5052
kathy.kufskie@swic.edu
Ami Lilley-Plexico
Wellness Advocate
Licensed Clinical Social Worker
B.S.W., Southern Illinois University
M.S.W., Southern Illinois University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5290
ami.lilleyplexico@swic.edu
Cory Lund
Associate Professor , English Composition
B.A., Bemidji State University
M.A., Bemidji State University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5473
cory.lund@swic.edu
Matt McCarter
Assistant Professor , English
B.A., Dallas Baptist University
M.A., Dallas Baptist University
Ph.D., University of Texas
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5014
william.mccarter@swic.edu
Steve Moiles
Assistant Professor , English
B.A., Michigan State University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5469
steve.moiles@swic.edu
Alicia Morgan
Associate Professor , English
B.S., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5152
alicia.morgan@swic.edu
Carolyn Myers
Professor , Political Science
B.A., Ottawa University
M.A., University of Kansas
Ph.D., University of Kansas
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5404
carolyn.myers@swic.edu
Bradford Nadziejko
Assistant Professor , English
B.A., Western Illinois University
M.F.A., Western Michigan University
Communication Red Bud & Belleville Campus
618-282-6682, ext. 8121
618-235-2700, ext. 54964
bradford.nadziejko@swic.edu
Natasha Olufoye
Associate Professor , English
B.A., Loyola University New Orleans
M. ED, University of Missouri at St. Louis
M.A., University of Missouri at St. Louis
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5588
natasha.olufoye@swic.edu
Van Plexico
Assistant Professor , History
B.A., Auburn University
M.A., Auburn University
Social Science Red Bud Campus
618-282-6682, ext. 8123
van.plexico@swic.edu
Jerry Ross
Associate Professor , English Composition
B.S., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5415
jerald.ross@swic.edu
Kristen Ruppert-Leach
Professor , Speech
B.S. – Southern Illinois University
M.A. – Southern Illinois University
Ed.D. – University of West Georgia
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5013
kristen.ruppert-leach@swic.edu
Darrell Russell
Professor , Philosophy
B.A., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Texas A&M University
Ph.D., Southern Illinois University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5589
darrell.russell@swic.edu
Traci Sachteleben
Professor , Psychology
B.A., Eastern Illinois University
M.A., Northern Illinois University
Ph.D., Northern Illinois University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5407
traci.sachteleben@swic.edu
Adan Salinas
Associate Professor , Spanish
B.B.A., The University of Texas at Austin
B.A., Pan American University
M.A., Indiana University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5586
adan.salinas@swic.edu
Lynne Schwartzhoff
Assistant Professor , English
B.A., Belmont Abbey College
M.F.A., Southern Illinois University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5197
lynne.schwartzhoff@swic.edu
Dianna Shank
Professor , English
B.A., St. Martin’s College
M.A., Central Washington University
Ph.D., Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Communication Sam Wolf Granite City
618-931-0600, ext. 7385
dianna.shank@swic.edu
Jennika Smith
Assistant Professor , English
B.A., University of Arkansas at Little Rock
M.A., University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5417
jennika.smith@swic.edu
Diana Umali
Assistant Professor , Music
B.A. – Saint Louis University
B.S. – Saint Louis University
M.M. – Southern Illinois University
Music Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5046
diana.umali@swic.edu
Raymond Webb
Associate Professor , History
B.A., Centre College
M.A., University of Kentucky
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5584
raymond.webb@swic.edu
Darcy L. Wente-Hahn
Assistant Professor , Speech
B.S., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
M.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
ABD, University of Nebraska Lincoln
Communication Sam Wolf Granite City
618-931-0600, ext. 7345
darcy.wente-hahn@swic.edu
Andrew Wheeler
Assistant Professor , Psychology
M.A. – Southern Illinois University
Social Science Red Bud Campus and
Belleville Campus
618-282-6682, ext. 8118
618-235-2700, ext. 5366
andrew.wheeler@swic.edu
Chantay White-Williams
Assistant Professor , English
B.A., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5065
chantay.white-williams@swic.edu
Catina Williams
Associate Professor , Psychology
B.S., Jackson State University
M.A., Washington University
Ph.D., Washington University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5520
catina.williams@swic.edu
Julie Willis
Assistant Professor , Speech
B.A. – Southern Illinois University Carbondale
M.F.A. – Purdue University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 4975
julie.willis@swic.edu