Arts & Humanities Faculty and Staff - Southwestern Illinois College

Dean of Arts & Humanities

Name Contact

Dr. Ashley Becker

Acting Dean

Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5298

ashley.becker@swic.edu

ADMINISTRATION & STAFF

Name  Contact
Shawn Vratney
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5309
shawn.vratney@swic.edu
Name  Contact
Karen Hiles
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5327
karen.hiles@swic.edu

FACULTY

Name Department Contact
Jeff Arnold
Professor , Geography
B.S., Western Illinois University
M.A., Ohio State University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5412
jeff.arnold@swic.edu
Carolyn Beal
Associate Professor , Early Childhood Education
A.A., Belleville Area College
B.A., McKendree College
M.S., Southern Illinois University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5593
carolyn.beal@swic.edu
Laura Billings
Professor , Psychology
B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
M.A., University of Kansas
Ph.D., University of Kansas
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5409
laura.billings@swic.edu
Carla Bills
Associate Professor , Psychology
B.S., Lincoln University of Missouri
M.A., University of Missouri
Ph.D., University of Missouri
Social Science Sam Wolf Granite City
618-931-0600, ext. 7394
carla.bills@swic.edu
Laura Boville
Assistant Professor, English
B.A., Truman State University
M.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-931-0600, ext. 7388
laura.boville@swic.edu
Dan Cross
Professor , Film
B.A., University of Minnesota
M.A., Northern Arizona University
M.A., Savannah College of Art and Design
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5591
dan.cross@swic.edu
Nicole Hancock
Professor , English
B.A., Olivet Nazarene University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Ph.D, Old Dominion University
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5151
nicole.hancock@swic.edu
Tracey Hayes
Assistant Professor , Sociology
B.A., McKendree College
M.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5408
tracey.hayes@swic.edu
Susan Holbrook
Associate Professor , Human Services Technology
B.S., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5198
susan.holbrook@swic.edu
Tami Hughes
Professor , Reading
A.A., Belleville Area College
B.S., Bradley University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5174
tami.hughes@swic.edu
Edward Jacobs
Associate Professor , Music
B.A., University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
M.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Music Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5354
edward.jacobs@swic.edu
Andrew Jensen
Assistant Professor , Music
B.M. – Illinois State University
M.M. – Illinois State University
D.M.A. – University of Southern Mississippi
Music Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5032
andrew.jensen@swic.edu
Emily Kelly-Padden
Assistant Professor , Speech
B.A., Allegheny College
M.A., Eastern Michigan University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5419
emily.kelly-padden@swic.edu
Winnie Kenney
Professor , English Composition
B.A., East Tennessee State University
M.A., East Tennessee State University
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5430
winnie.kenney@swic.edu
Andrew Koester
Assistant Professor , Art
B.F.A., Eastern Illinois University
M.F.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Art Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5429
andrew.koester@swic.edu
Kathy Kufskie
Professor , Psychology
B.S., Southeast Missouri State University
M.A., Lindenwood University
Ph.D., University of Missouri – Saint Louis
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5052
kathy.kufskie@swic.edu
Ami Lilley-Plexico
Wellness Advocate
Licensed Clinical Social Worker
B.S.W., Southern Illinois University
M.S.W., Southern Illinois University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5290
ami.lilleyplexico@swic.edu
Cory Lund
Professor , English Composition
B.A., Bemidji State University
M.A., Bemidji State University
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5473
cory.lund@swic.edu
Matt McCarter
Professor , English
B.A., Dallas Baptist University
M.A., Dallas Baptist University
Ph.D., University of Texas
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5014
william.mccarter@swic.edu
Steve Moiles
Associate Professor , English
B.A., Michigan State University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5469
steve.moiles@swic.edu
Natasha Moore
Associate Professor , English
B.A., Loyola University New Orleans
M. ED, University of Missouri at St. Louis
M.A., University of Missouri at St. Louis
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5588
natasha.moore@swic.edu
Alicia Morgan
Professor , English
B.S., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5152
alicia.morgan@swic.edu
Carolyn Myers
Professor , Political Science
B.A., Ottawa University
M.A., University of Kansas
Ph.D., University of Kansas
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5404
carolyn.myers@swic.edu
Crystal Myers
Assistant , Professor , English
B.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
M.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Teaching Certification, University of Maryland Asian Division
English/Film Sam Wolf Granite City
618-235-2700, ext. 5197
crystal.myers@swic.edu
Bradford Nadziejko
Associate Professor , English
B.A., Western Illinois University
M.F.A., Western Michigan University
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 54964
bradford.nadziejko@swic.edu
Van Plexico
Assistant Professor , History
B.A., Auburn University
M.A., Auburn University
Social Science Red Bud Campus
618-282-6682, ext. 8123
van.plexico@swic.edu
Kristen Ruppert-Leach
Professor , Speech
B.S. – Southern Illinois University
M.A. – Southern Illinois University
Ed.D. – University of West Georgia
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5013
kristen.ruppert-leach@swic.edu
Traci Sachteleben
Professor , Psychology
B.A., Eastern Illinois University
M.A., Northern Illinois University
Ph.D., Northern Illinois University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5407
traci.sachteleben@swic.edu
Adan Salinas
Associate Professor , Spanish
B.B.A., The University of Texas at Austin
B.A., Pan American University
M.A., Indiana University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5586
adan.salinas@swic.edu
Cory Sellers
Assistant Professor , Art
B.F.A., McKendree University
M.F.A., Pratt Institute
Art Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5429
cory.sellers@swic.edu
Dianna Shank
Professor , English
B.A., St. Martin’s College
M.A., Central Washington University
Ph.D., Southern Illinois University Carbondale
English/Film Sam Wolf Granite City
618-931-0600, ext. 7385
dianna.shank@swic.edu
Richard Spencer
Professor , Philosophy
B.A., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5416
richard.spencer@swic.edu
Sarah Swist
Assistant Professor , Art
M.F.A., Penn State University
B.F.A., Western Illinois University
Art Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5327
sarah.swist@swic.edu
Diana Umali
Assistant Professor , Music
B.A. – Saint Louis University
B.S. – Saint Louis University
M.M. – Southern Illinois University
Music Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5046
diana.umali@swic.edu
Raymond Webb
Associate Professor , History
B.A., Centre College
M.A., University of Kentucky
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5584
raymond.webb@swic.edu
Darcy L. Wente-Hahn
Assistant Professor , Speech
B.S., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
M.A., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Ph.D., University of Nebraska Lincoln
Communication Sam Wolf Granite City
618-931-0600, ext. 7345
darcy.wente-hahn@swic.edu
Andrew Wheeler
Assistant Professor , Psychology
M.A. – Southern Illinois University
Social Science Red Bud Campus and
Belleville Campus
618-282-6682, ext. 8118
618-235-2700, ext. 5366
andrew.wheeler@swic.edu
Chantay White-Williams
Associate Professor , English
B.A., Southern Illinois University
M.A., Southern Illinois University
English/Film Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5065
chantay.white-williams@swic.edu
Catina Williams
Associate Professor , Psychology
B.S., Jackson State University
M.A., Washington University
Ph.D., Washington University
Social Science Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 5520
catina.williams@swic.edu
Julie Willis
Assistant Professor , Speech
B.A. – Southern Illinois University Carbondale
M.F.A. – Purdue University
Communication Belleville Campus
618-235-2700, ext. 4975
julie.willis@swic.edu