Student Clubs & Organizations - Southwestern Illinois College

Why Get Involved?

When you get involved in one of our clubs or organizations, you will do more than just have fun and make new friends. You will build valuable skills in areas of leadership, communication and teamwork– skills that employers and transfer colleges are looking for!  Don’t miss out on the opportunity to graduate with more than a degree. With more than 40+ clubs and organizations active each year, SWIC has something for everyone.

Visit the Student Life Office IS2030 today to discover all Student Life has to offer.

Active Clubs and Organizations

  • Academic and Pre-Professional Groups
  • Cultural and Ethnic Clubs
  • Faith-Based Clubs
  • Honors Societies
  • Literary and Performing Arts Clubs
  • Service-Oriented Clubs
  • Social & Special Interest Clubs
  • Student Life Programs

Academic and Pre-Professional

Culinary Arts Club (Sam Wolf Granite City Campus)

The Culinary Arts Club encourages professionalism, unity and sociability among students enrolled in the Culinary Arts and Food Management program at SWIC.

Sponsor: Cynthia (Casey) Parker,
cynthia.parker@swic.edu

Horticulture Club

This club provides horticultural leadership, helps beautify the campuses, maintains outdoor horticultural land laboratories and sponsors speakers and field trips in the horticultural field.

Sponsor: Kurt Range
kurt.range@swic.edu

Lifetime Leader Program

Promotes leadership development, service and fellowship among students.

Sponsor: Amy Brockman
amy.brockman@swic.edu

Mock Trial Club

Promotes law, criminal justice and/public speaking as a field of interest and study.

Sponsor: Dominique Bibbs
dominique.bibbs@swic.edu

Music Club

Promotes love of music through various forms of expression.

Sponsor: Yasin Jackson
yasin.jackson@swic.edu

Physical Therapist Assistant Club

The purpose of the PTAC is to encourage unity among its members through professional and social activities and to educate the community regarding physical therapy.

Sponsor: Robert Lutz
robert.lutz@swic.edu

Progressive Radiographers Organization

This organization encourages professionalism, unity and sociability among students enrolled in the Radiology program at SWIC.

Sponsor: Holly Higgenbotham
holly.higgenbotham@swic.edu

Respiratory Care Student Association

The Respiratory Care Student Association promotes the success of students pursuing a career in respiratory therapy.

Sponsor: Diane Dodd
diane.dodd@hshs.org

Running Start Club

Running Start Club promotes the success of Running Start students in their college career.

Sponsor: Melissa Gehrs
melissa.gehrs@swic.edu

Sign Language Club

The Sign Language Club promotes the success of students pursuing a career in interpreting. Offers students the opportunity to learn more about the deaf community, improve interpreter skills and share information and resources.

Sponsor: Greg Petersen
gregory.petersen@swic.edu

Skills USA Team (Sam Wolf Granite City Campus)

The Skills USA Team is open to all students enrolled in classes with vocational, trade, industrial, technical, health and personal and public service objectives.

Sponsor: Kevin Corgan
kevin.corgan@swic.edu

Student Nurses Association

Students in the Nursing Education program may join the Student Nurses Association, affiliated with the Illinois Nursing Association, Tenth District.

Sponsor: Elizabeth Alvarez
elizabeth.alvarez@swic.edu


Sponsor: Cynthia Winfield
cynthia.winfield@swic.edu

SWIC IT Club

The SWIC Computer Club offers students an opportunity to broaden their knowledge of and to foster a better understanding of the role of computers in business.

Sponsor: Manav Misra
manav.misra@swic.edu

Cultural & Ethnic Clubs

Black Affairs Council (BAC)

The Black Affairs Council encourages the education and enhanced cultural awareness of all students in the community college district.

*currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5324

LATTE (Ladies Achieving Their True Excellence)

LATTE provides positive role models and community engagement opportunities for young women.

Co-Sponsor: Keiasha Ford
keiasha.ford@swic.edu

Co-Sponsor: Angie Stewart-Brown
angie.stewart-brown@swic.edu

MOCA (Men of Character and Ambition)

MOCA provides networking and engagement opportunities for young men.

Sponsor: *currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5324

Faith-Based Clubs

Fellowship of Christian Athletes

An interdenominational Christian sports ministry for student athletes and coaches.

Sponsor: Warren Thomas
warren.thomas@swic.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

Promotes Christianity on college campuses.

Sponsor: Meghan Sikes
meghan.sikes@intervarsity.org

Newman Catholic Campus Ministry

The Newman Club is a Christian organization that meets to connect with students in a way that ignites their passion for God and challenges their thinking with the kind of fresh, relevant discipleship found nowhere else.

Sponsor: Winnie Kenney
winnie.kenney@swic.edu

Honor Societies

Phi Theta Kappa

A national honorary scholastic society. It promotes scholarship, develops character and cultivates fellowship among students in the community colleges of the United States.

Alpha Kappa Rho Chapter (Sam Wolf Granite City Campus)

Beta Iota Iota Chapter (Red Bud Campus)

Theta Epsilon Chapter (Belleville Campus)

Sponsor: Amy Brockman
amy.brockman@swic.edu 

Literary & Performing Arts Clubs

Blue Storm Pep Band

Brings school spirit with music at SWIC events.

Sponsor: Ed Jacobs
ed.jacobs@swic.edu

Head to Hand- Literary Magazine

Produces a website promoting the literary and other artistic efforts of SWIC students.

Sponsor: Azizat Danmole
azizat.danmole@swic.edu

SWIC Artist’s League

Promotes and celebrates the appreciation and expression of art.

Sponsor: Andrew Koester
andrew.koester@swic.edu

Service-Oriented Clubs

Equality Club- Belleville Campus

Promotes awareness and acceptance for all sexualities and gender identities.

Co-Sponsor: Tracey Hayes
tracey.hayes
@swic.edu

Co-Sponsor- Victoria Valdez
victoria.valdez@swic.edu

Student Veterans of America

Student Veterans of America promotes awareness of the issues facing veterans of the armed forces.

Sponsor: Daniel Nagel
daniel.nagel@swic.edu

Social & Special Interest

Anime Club

Promotes the appreciation of anime and anime subculture.

Sponsor: Myki Rhodes
myki.rhodes@swic.edu

Social Squad

For students who want to meet new people and make friends.

Co-Sponsor: Tray Hayes
traydale.hayes@swic.edu

Video Game Club

Brings students together through the love of video games.

*currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5
205

Student Life Programs & Partnerships

Blue Storm Radio

Student-run internet radio station. Follow us for club and organization event info at tunein.com/bluestorm.

Sponsor: Tom Calhoun
tommy.calhoun@swic.edu

College Activities Programming Board

The Program Board is a diverse group of students employed by the College Activities Office to help plan, promote and host educational and social activities district wide.

Contact the Director of Student Life, Amy Brockman at amy.brockman@swic.edu or visit the Student Life Office to pick up an application.