Student Clubs & Organizations | Southwestern Illinois College

Why Get Involved?

When you get involved in one of our clubs or organizations, you will do more than just have fun and make new friends. You will build valuable skills in areas of leadership, communication and teamwork– skills that employers and transfer colleges are looking for!  Don’t miss out on the opportunity to graduate with more than a degree. With more than 40+ clubs and organizations active each year, SWIC has something for everyone.

Visit the College Activities Office today to discover all Student Life has to offer.

Active Clubs and Organizations

  • Academic and Pre-Professional Groups
  • Cultural and Ethnic Clubs
  • Faith-Based Clubs
  • Honors Societies
  • Literary and Performing Arts Clubs
  • Service-Oriented Clubs
  • Social and Special Interest Clubs
  • Student Life Services Programs

Academic and Pre-Professional

Astronomy Club

The Astronomy Club is dedicated to further the study of astronomical events while gaining knowledge of Astronomy and Nighttime observations.

Sponsor: *currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5324

Biology Club

Sponsor: *currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5324

Culinary Arts Club

The Culinary Arts Club encourages professionalism, unity and sociability among students enrolled in the Culinary Arts and Food Management program at SWIC.

Sponsor: Leisa Brockman, CHE
leisa.brockman@swic.edu

Horticulture Club

This club provides horticultural leadership, helps beautify the campuses, maintains outdoor horticultural land laboratories and sponsors speakers and field trips in the horticultural field.

Sponsor: Kurt Range
kurt.range@swic.edu

Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA-PBL Inc.)

Phi Beta Lambda is a dynamic organization of students preparing for success as leaders in business, government and communities. Our mission is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs.

Sponsor: *currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5324

Physical Therapist Assistant Club

The purpose of the PTAC is to encourage unity among its members through professional and social activities and to educate the community regarding physical therapy.

Sponsor: Robert Lutz
robert.lutz@swic.edu

Progressive Radiographers Organization

This organization encourages professionalism, unity and sociability among students enrolled in the Radiology program at SWIC.

Sponsor: Larry Wheeler
larry.wheeler@swic.edu

Respiratory Care Student Association

The Respiratory Care Student Association promotes the success of students pursuing a career in respiratory therapy.

Sponsor: Diane Dodd
diane.dodd@hshs.org

Running Start Club

Running Start Club promotes the success of Running Start students in their college career.

Sponsor: Jane Sparks
jane.sparks@swic.edu

Sign Language Club

The Sign Language Club promotes the success of students pursuing a career in interpreting. Offers students the opportunity to learn more about the deaf community, improve interpreter skills and share information and resources.

Sponsor: Greg Petersen
gregory.petersen@swic.edu

Skills USA Team (Sam Wolf Granite City Campus)

The Skills USA Team is open to all students enrolled in classes with vocational, trade, industrial, technical, health and personal and public service objectives.

Sponsor: Kevin Corgan
kevin.corgan@swic.edu

Student Nurses Association

Students in the Nursing Education program may join the Student Nurses Association, affiliated with the Illinois Nursing Association, Tenth District.

Sponsor: Kim Keel
kim.keel@swic.edu


Sponsor: Jane Ohl
jane.ohl@swic.edu

SWIC Computer Club

The SWIC Computer Club offers students an opportunity to broaden their knowledge of and to foster a better understanding of the role of computers in business.

Sponsor: Lawrence Appelbaum
lawrence.appelbaum@swic.edu

Cultural & Ethnic Clubs

Black Affairs Council (BAC)

The Black Affairs Council encourages the education and enhanced cultural awareness of all students in the community college district.

Sponsor: LaTesha Rodgers
latesha.rodgers@swic.edu

LATTE (Ladies Achieving Their True Excellence)

LATTE provides positive role models and community engagement opportunities for young women.

Co-Sponsor: Keiasha Ford
keiasha.ford@swic.edu

Co-Sponsor: Angie Stewart-Brown
angie.stewart-brown@swic.edu

MOCA (Men of Character and Ambition)

MOCA provides networking and engagement opportunities for young men.

Sponsor: *currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5324

Faith-Based Clubs

Fellowship of Christian Athletes

An interdenominational Christian sports ministry for student athletes and coaches.

Sponsor: Warren Thomas warren.thomas@swic.edu

Inter varsity Christian Fellowship

Promotes Christianity on college campuses.

Sponsor: James Stamm
james.stamm@swic.edu

Lutheran Student Fellowship

Promotes Christianity and the teachings of the Lutheran denomination.

Sponsor: Dennis Shannon
dennis.shannon@swic.edu

Newman Catholic Campus Ministry

The Newman Club is a Christian organization that meets to connect with students in a way that ignites their passion for God and challenges their thinking with the kind of fresh, relevant discipleship found nowhere else.

Sponsor: Winnie Kenney
winnie.kenney@swic.edu

Honors Societies

Phi Theta Kappa

A national honorary scholastic society. It promotes scholarship, develops character and cultivates fellowship among students in the community colleges of the United States.

Alpha Kappa Rho Chapter (Sam Wolf Granite City Campus)

Sponsor: Amy Brockman
amy.brockman@swic.edu

Beta Iota Iota Chapter (Red Bud Campus)

Sponsor: Amy Brockman
amy.brockman@swic.edu

Theta Epsilon Chapter (Belleville Campus)

Co-Sponsor: Christina Boyce
christina.boyce002@swic.edu 

Literary & Performing Arts Clubs

Act Two Theatre Club

Act Two Theatre Club promotes the art of theatre with activities and productions.

Co-Sponsor: Julie Willis
julie.willis@swic.edu


Co-Sponsor: Emily Kelly-Padden
emily.kelly-padden@swic.edu

Blue Storm Pep Band

Brings school spirit with music at SWIC events.

Sponsor: Ed Jacobs
ed.jacobs@swic.edu

Head to Hand- Literary Magazine

Produces a website promoting the literary and other artistic efforts of SWIC students.

Sponsor: Azizat Danmole
azizat.danmole@swic.edu

Service-Oriented Clubs

Q & A (Queers and Allies) Belleville Campus

Promotes awareness and acceptance for all sexualities and gender identities.

Sponsor: Tracey Hayes
tracey.hayes@swic.edu

Student Veterans of America

Student Veterans of America promotes awareness of the issues facing veterans of the armed forces.

Sponsor: *currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5324

Social & Special Interest

Anime Club

Promotes the appreciation of anime and anime subculture.

Sponsor: *currently seeking a sponsor
For more information, contact College Activities at 618-235-2700, ext. 5324

Cinema Club

Sponsor: Trevor Juenger
trevor.juenger@swic.edu

Photography Club

Promotes the appreciation of photography.

Sponsor: Michael Bialas
michael_bialas@hotmail.com

Social Squad

For students who want to meet new people and make friends.

Co-Sponsor: Angie Stewart-Brown
angie.stewart-brown@swic.edu


Co-Sponsor: Keimia Parham
keimia.parham@swic.edu

Video Game Club

Brings students together through the love of video games.

Sponsor: Tami Hughes
tami.hughes@swic.edu

Student Life Programs & Partnerships

College Activities Program Board

The Program Board is a diverse group of students employed by the College Activities Office to help plan, promote and host educational and social activities district wide.

Contact the Director of Student Life, Amy Brockman at amy.brockman@swic.edu or visit the College Activities Office to pick up an application.

Blue Storm Radio

Student-run internet radio station. Hosts weekly SWIC Radio Café live broadcast from the Kamm Lounge during each semester. Follow us for club and organization event info at tunein.com/bluestorm.

Sponsor: Mac Chamblin

SWIC Weekly/ Eye of the Storm

Published once a month from October through May, the newspaper keeps students informed of campus events and activities, special interest stories and much more. Get your copy today!

Sponsor: Mark Skaer
mark.skaer@swic.edu
eyeofthestorm@swic.edu